Freak Beats

Where's The Beach appear twice on this compilation with tracks recorded at Mantra HQ. The two songs were 'Tripping The LUV Fantastic' and 'Deliciously Deranged'. Tripping The LUV Fantastic was played on Daytime Radio One and both generated a lot of interest from John Peel who booked the band for a session soon afterwards.

'Tripping the LUV Fantastic' included samples from Phuture Phantasy Club, Kraftwerk, Human League, Man Parrish, Chris 'The Glove' Taylor, Shangri Las, Sigue Sigue Sputnik and Yello.The other track, 'Deliciously Deranged', was credited to the bands' pseudonym 'The Elliptical Trampolines' and included samples from Siouxsie and The Banshees, Justified Ancients of Mu Mu, King of the Nosebleeds, K Alexi Shelby, Hot Chocolate, Janet Jackson and John Cooper Clarke.

Tracklisting CD (Scam Records BIP 501):

  1. Mighty Force - Cosmic Ambassador

  2. Where's The Beach - Tripping the LUV Fantastic

  3. What Noise - Vein (re-mix) (featuring Julia Nagle out of The Fall

  4. Third Wave - Arabian Sugar

  5. Black State Choir - Akuku

  6. Suns of Arqa - Govinda's House

  7. Elliptical Trampolines - Deliciously Derranged

  8. Toss the Feathers (featuring Mike Pickering out of M-People) - Skidoo

  9. 808 State - State Ritual

  10. Time Kode - In the Year 2525

(not the recording though) Mantra Communications, 1997.