club instructors

Oxford University Karate Club is fortunate to have a number of experienced instructors trained in JKA Karate. To find out more information about qualifications visit the JKAE page.

Yoshinobu Ohta. 7th Dan. Chief Instructor of JKA England.

Ohta Sensei is a graduate of Takushoku University and is a graduate of the of the famous Instructors Course at the JKA Hombu Dojo in Japan. Ohta Sensei was the assistant to Keinosuke Enoeda, 9th Dan and is now Chief Instructor of JKAE. He teaches on special courses at OUKC.

Spiros Ventouras. 5th Dan.

Spiros Sensei is the club instructor. He started karate under Otake Sensei in Greece, before moving to the UK and continued his training under Ohta Sensei.
You can reach Spiros by phone (+44 7478712492) or email (spiros100ventouras@gmail.com).

Francis Mussai. 4th Dan.

Frank is a former President of OUKC and long-standing member of the club. He has been practising karate for over 20 years and has trained with the JKA in the UK, Europe, and Japan.

Jaime Veiga Perez. 2nd Dan.
Jaime began karate at OUKC and continues to train and teach regularly.

club committee

The OUKC Committee works closely with Spiros Sensei to make the club run successfully. OUKC holds elections for the student committee every year. This is a great way to become involved in the club and Oxford University sport. Positions include President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Captains. Please ask the current committee if you are interested in taking part.

President Catherine Fan
catherine.fan@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Secretary Michael Swain
michael.swain@jesus.ox.ac.uk
Treasurer Philip Welch
philip.welch@univ.ox.ac.uk
Social Secretary Emma Moreby
emma.moreby@seh.ox.ac.uk
Kit Officer Martin Tat
martin.tat@sjc.ox.ac.uk
IT Officer Man-Suen Chan
man-suen.chan@dpag.ox.ac.uk
Webmaster Catherine Fan
catherine.fan@wolfson.ox.ac.uk
Men's Captain Martin Tat
martin.tat@sjc.ox.ac.uk
Women's Captain Emma Moreby
emma.moreby@seh.ox.ac.uk
Senior Member Bjarke Frellesvig
bjarke.frellesvig@hertford.ox.ac.uk