Hugh IV Gros Grand obvHugh IV Gros Grand rev

Kingdom of Cyprus, Hugh IV, 1324-1359, AR Gros Grand, 2nd series 'cross at throat' type, no field mark.
The son of Guy, Constable of Cyprus (son of Hugh III of Cyprus), and Eschiva of Ibelin, Hugh de Lusignan succeeded his father as Constable of Cyprus in 1318, and later succeeded to the throne of Cyprus on the death of his uncle Henry II, since Henry II had no son. He was also crowned as titular king of Jerusalem, but showed little interest in affairs outside Cyprus, and prevented his son Peter from raising a new crusade to regain the lost territory. He resigned the throne to Peter in 1358, and died the following year.
The reverse has the Cross of Jerusalem in the centre, and the inscription, continuous from obverse to reverse, describes him as 'Hugh King of Jerusalem and Cyprus'.
Photos © Angela Grant 2013-2017.


About us

The Oxford University Numismatic Society (OUNS for short), also known as The Phoenix Society since its reformation, is a student society within the University of Oxford, and is dedicated to the promotion of the study of numismatics (coins, tokens, medals, banknotes) and paranumismatica (tickets, checks, coin-like objects, items made with and for coins). Numismatics is an important part of the academic study of History, Classics, and Archaeology, and we are proud to bring together students, academics, and other interested parties in our meetings.

The Numismatic Society is for both those studying and working with, or collecting, coins and also those who have a general interest in the field. The Society's aim is to encourage interest, and to provide a forum for debate and research in the study of coinage from antiquity through to the present day. Each year the Society invites speakers from a wide range of academic institutions, and also collectors and students, to address it on a variety of topics.

We usually hold four meetings during each of the three university terms including speaker events, socials, and dinners. We have close ties with the faculties of Classics and Archaeology within the University, as well as the staff of the Heberden Coin Room of the Ashmolean Museum, Oxford. We are formally affiliated to both the University of Oxford and the British Association of Numismatic Societies (BANS).

The Society may be of particular interest to those reading:
History, including Ancient and Modern History (AMH), History of Art, and joint schools,
Archaeology and Anthropology (Arch and Anth),
Classical Archaeology and Ancient History (CAAH).

All graduates, undergraduates, faculty members, and those from outside the university entirely, whatever your subject, are warmly encouraged to join. Membership is free of charge to all current students, provided they register with the Secretary. Subscription for all others is £12 a year, and for visitors we ask a contribution of £2 per meeting.


The Committee

The committee is responsible for the day-to-day running of the society, organising its events and publicity.

President: Rahul Raza (Somerville)
rahul.raza [at]
Vice Presidents:
Judith McKenzie (Archaeology / St. Hugh's)
Angela Grant (Jesus alumna)
Secretary: Paula Gaither (Christ Church)
paula.gaither [at]
Treasurer and IT Officer/Webmaster: Joshua Wrigley (Lincoln)
joshua.wrigley [at]
Committee Member: Joseph Robson (LMH)
joseph.robson [at]
Senior Member: Shailendra Bhandare (Ashmolean Museum / St. Cross)
shailendra.bhandare [at]

We are always on the look-out for new committee members.
If you feel you can contribute to the Society please contact our Secretary, Joe Robson.

A pdf copy of the Constitution under which this Committee has been elected is available here.


Affiliated to:
BANS logo

Heberden Coin Room logo

Sponsored by:
Dix Noonan Webb logo
Dix Noonan Webb Ltd., Mayfair.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional