Mage Logo


* Return to the FLRP page.

Level Summary

Level  Hit Points  Armour Class  Essence Points  Special Abilities
1st       26            1              6         Read/Write, Dagger,
                                                  1 language
2nd       28            1             13         2 Languages
3rd       30            2             21         3 Languages
4th       32            2             30         4 Languages
5th       34            3             40         5 Languages, Staff,
                                                  Presence Attack
If the mage wears armour greater than AC 1, each spell cast costs 1 extra spell point for each point of AC above 1. The player may elect to have their mage not wear armour.


All magic in the Bastions originated in Chorovar, where the eight colours of Magic are personified in the eight noble houses of that Bastion. The Guild of mages is a large organisation, which grew from the merging of the small Brandel guild with that of Kar Chorovar, after the Bastion of Sorcery was almost destroyed by Talen Coldblood in 1193.

The present day guild is much like a University, with departments of the different Disciplines, known as Schools. There is some rivalry between the Schools, but this is only really pronounced in Kar Chorovar itself. Some mages show allegiance to a particular School by wearing the School's colour or crest.

The Paths of Magic

Their are eight different colours of magic, which the character may learn as he chooses:

The Discipline of Blue, the Art of Apportation
The Discipline of Gold, the Art of the Arcane
The Discipline of Green, the Art of Enrapture
The Discipline of White, the Art of Guardianship
The Discipline of Grey, the Art of Knowledge
The Discipline of Violet, the Art of Convokation
The Discipline of Brown, the Art of Essence Shaping
The Discipline of Red, the Art of War

Each level, the mage has five points to spend on bettering himself. At first level, a basic mage chooses one level in five of the schools. At subsequent levels, the mage may spend up to two points in each school (for a total of five points). For example, Rhazir the Artificer wishes to one day become an alchemist. As an apprentice (1st level) mage, he has knowledge of the Blue, Brown, Green, Grey and Gold disciplines. At second level, he spends two points in Brown (he wishes to become a creator of magical items), and two points in Grey (he prizes knowledge above destructive power). He has one more point to spend. He could buy another level in Blue, green, or Gold to give him level 2 in that school. However, wishing to broaden his abilities, he chooses a school which he previously did not know about, and gains one level of Violet (the art of Convokation). Rhazir has level 3 in Brown and Grey, and level one in Blue, Green, Gold, and Violet. He has no knowledge of White or Red (so he'd better stay out of combat).



The level of a spell is a measure of its power. The level that a mage has in a particular discipline is the limit to the level of spells he can cast from that school. In the above example, Rhazir the Artificer may cast any Brown or Grey spell up to 3rd level. He may only cast 1st level spells of the Gold, Green, Blue and Violet disciplines, and he may not cast Red or White spells.

This may seem confusing. Rhazir is a second level mage, but he can cast 3rd level spells. The difference lies between the experience level of the character (how many adventures he/she has gone on), and the discipline levels of the character (how much magical knowledge he/she has). From hence forth, all talk of levels will pertain to the levels a mage has in the individual disciplines.

Casting Spells

Casting a spell requires a expenditure of essence (mage spell points) equal to the level of the spell. These usually come in the form of sweets to be consumed before the casting. Additionally, casting any spell requires a verbal, unless otherwise stated. This represents the complex verbal and other components, and the casting time, of the spell. The length of the verbals required are determined by its own level.

1st level spell "By my power, <spell name>"

2nd level spell "By the power of the <colour> Discipline, <spell name>"

3rd level spell "By the power of the <colour> Discipline, the Art of <name>, <spell name>"

4th level spell "By the might of the mysteries arcane I call the power of the <colour> Discipline, the Art of <name>, <spell name>"

5th level spell "By my mastery of the powers that harken from the great mystery arcane I call the power of the <colour> Discipline, the Art of <name>, <spell name>"

Example: If Rhazir wished to cast Shatter, he would eat 2 spell points, say the verbal "By the power of the Brown Discipline, Shatter" and touch the target item.

Full Spell Lists and further information are to be found in the FLRP Handbook, which is currently in production. Ask your nearest guru for details.....