Taruithorn Termcard, Hilary Term 1998


Meetings will be held in the Lady Brodie Room, St Hilda's College at 8 pm unless stated otherwise. Please bring food and drink to appropriate meetings.


First Week - Friday 23th January - BEORN'S BREAKFAST
Provided he hadn't eaten for most of the day, that is. Actually a Waffle Party, in Christ Church GCR. Meet at the Lodge for 8pm.
Second Week - Friday 30st January - SPEAKER MEETING
Maggie Percival gives a talk on Costume in Middle-earth, with particular emphasis on Rohan (see below).
Third Week - Friday 6th February - ICE-CREAM PARTY
To be held at George and Davis on Little Clarendon St.
Third Week - Saturday 7th February - INTER-VARSITY MOOT
A quiz and general get-together with the Cambridge Tolkien Society. Details to be announced.
Fourth Week - Friday 13th February - SEMINAR
On the subject of Tolkien's Poetry.
Fifth Week - Friday 20th February - PUBMOOT
A stress-free moot in preparation for the Banquet. In a break with tradition, to be held at the Rose and Crown on North Parade.
Fifth Week - Saturday 21st February - THE ROHAN BANQUET
This year's Banquet is on the theme of Rohan. Having hopefully picked up some useful costume tips in second week. Contact the committee for tickets.
Sixth Week - Friday 28th February - SPEAKER MEETING
Identity of the speaker to be revealed later in term.
Seventh Week - Friday 7th March - CULTURAL EVENING
The National Ballet perform Sleeping Beauty at the Apollo Theatre. A limited number of tickets available, at £9.50 each.
Eighth Week - Friday 14th March - AGM AND LONG-AWAITED PARTY
An attempt to force democracy on Taruithorn by making people vote before they're allowed into the Party.