ESF logo Bristol Shield

ESF Mini Meeting on NMR Quantum Computation

The 2001 Mini Meeting on NMR Quantum Computation, sponsored by the European Science Foundation, will be held at the Institute for Advanced Studies at the University of Bristol on Saturday 3rd March and Sunday 4th March. The meeting is aimed principally at those with a direct interest in NMR Quantum Computation, but may also be of interest to researchers in either NMR or Quantum Information Processing.


Steffen Glaser, Technische Universität München,
Jonathan Jones, University of Oxford,
Noah Linden, University of Bristol, (Local Organiser)


This will be a discussion meeting with a number of informal seminars given by the participants.

Costs and Registration

The meeting is limited to a maximum of 35 participants. There is no registration fee. Accommodation will be available nearby at a cost of approximately 60 pounds per night (including breakfast) on Friday and Saturday nights. (Note: 1 pound is about 1.5 euro). We recommend the Bristol City Centre Travel Inn, telephone +44 117 910 0600.

A limited number of funded places are available which will cover accommodation and subsistence costs and make a contribution towards travelling expenses. For further information on registration please contact


Bristol is easy to reach by road, rail and air; details are available at the University of Bristol directions page. There are direct international flights to Bristol Airport from Amsterdam, Brussels, Dublin, Frankfurt, Munich and Paris, and from various UK regional airports (but not from London Heathrow). Participants arriving by train should normally aim for Bristol Temple Meads; information is available at the Railtrack Travel Timetable.

Directions to The Institute for Advanced Studies from the Bristol Travel Inn (about 1km) can be obtained here.

Confirmed Particpants

James Annett
Mark Bowdrey
Hilary Carteret
Holly Cummins
Simon Duckett
Ivette Fuentes-Guridi
Steffen Glaser
Balasz Gyorffy
Patrick Huebler
Jonathan Jones
Noah Linden
Chris Maierle
Raimund Marx
Bill Munro
Kae Nemoto
Ruediger Schack
Tony Sudbery
Thorsten Schmidt
Thomas Schulte-Herbrueggen
Vlatko Vedral