Home     Research     Publications     The Group     Opportunities     News     Teaching     Contact
Professor Timothy J. Donohoe
Professor Donohoe
I am currently the Head of Organic Chemistry at the University of Oxford and a fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford.
Our research lies in the field of asymmetric synthesis and the application of stereoselective oxidation and reduction reactions to natural product synthesis. We have a burgeoning interest in the area of carbohydrates and the application of metathesis to the synthesis of heterocycles. My group currently consists of six post doctoral researchers, eleven D.Phil. students, four Part II students and one visiting student. A poster of the group's research can be found here.

I can be found in CRL Office 16: tel (01865) 275649; e-mail timothy.donohoe@chem.ox.ac.uk

  My personal assistant is Jenny Houlsby (CRL Office 15) tel (01865) 285006; e-mail jenny.houlsby@chem.ox.ac.uk  

Curriculum Vitae

  Academic Positions  
  August 2006 Appointed Head of the Organic Chemistry sub-department, University of Oxford  
  2004 - present Professor of Chemistry, Magdalen College and the University of Oxford  
  2001 - 2004 Lecturer in Chemistry, Magdalen College and the University of Oxford  
  2000 - 2001 Reader in Chemistry, University of Manchester  
  1994 - 2000 Lecturer in Chemistry, University of Manchester  
  1992 - 1994 Post doctoral research with Prof. P. D. Magnus FRS on the synthesis of Taxol and its deoxy derivatives using an intramolecular pyrylium ylide cycloaddition approach, resulting in 5 publications.
  1989 - 1992 D.Phil, Oxford University, under the supervision of Prof. S. G. Davies entitled Chiral Oxonium Ions, resulting in 5 publications.  
  1985 - 1989 BSc (Hons) first class, University of Bath. Final year project with Professor T. J. Gallagher entitled Ketenethioacetals as synthons for the synthesis of substituted aminoacids.
  Awards and Positions   
  2006 Royal Society of Chemistry: Corday-Morgan Medal  
  2002 AstraZeneca Award for Organic Chemistry  
  2001 Novartis Young Investigator Award  
  2000 Pfizer Academic Award  
  1998 Glaxo Wellcome award for Innovative Chemistry  
  1998 - 2001 Associate Editor (UK) for the journal Tetrahedron Letters